Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  To join this Forum send an email with this exact subject line REQUEST MEMBERSHIP to bbcstaff@gmx.com telling us your connection with the BBC.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Gillian Hush (Read 10807 times)
Amigo

Gillian Hush
Jul 6th, 2012, 2:11pm

It is with great regret that I bring to the notice of members of this forum the death of Gillian Hush. A North Region Producer for "The Home Service" she looked after respected presenters such as Brian Redhead and many others.

Ariel reports :-

"Gillian Hush, one of the BBC's most distinguished and appreciated network producers, died on 28 June after a short illness."  

Their report is here:- http://www.bbc.co.uk/ariel/18735779

I had the greatest pleasure of working with Gillian for many years. She was a wonderful producer.

Personally, may I reflect on a lovely person. On one programme I was an OB Engineer for her, we were broadcasting an edition of "Woman's Hour" from a stage, somewhere the North Region. She asked me to collect her handbag from the other side of the stage. Of course I did, who wouldn't? It's Gillian, you'd do anything for Gillian. As I crossed the stage, carrying her handbag, the applause was quite loud!

Gillian was the epitomy of an 'Old-style' BBC Radio Producer.
Highly respected and loved by the colleagues with whom she worked.

"No-one who worked with or for Gillian would forget the experience. Whether correcting the pronunciation of Alan Bennett, working with the Swedish soprano Elisabeth Soderstrom, or encouraging new contributors, broadcasters, sound engineers and colleagues respected her control, discipline and inexhaustible search for excellence."

IP Logged

Administrator
YaBB Administrator

Re: Gillian Hush
Reply #1 - Jul 6th, 2012, 2:34pm

Radio Today pays tribute  here.

Former BBC producer Gillian Hush dies

Gillian Hush MBE, who worked for the BBC for over 30 years, has died.