Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  To join this Forum send an email with this exact subject line REQUEST MEMBERSHIP to bbcstaff@gmx.com telling us your connection with the BBC.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Ian Hyams (Read 6433 times)
alan_ashton
Ex Member

Ian Hyams
Apr 26th, 2008, 7:41am

Ian Hyams, stalwart of the GNS desk in the BH radio newsroom, news editor Radio Norfolk and latterly a freelance in New York, has died of cancer at his home in Norfolk.
His funeral is at 2pm on Tuesday (April 29th) at the Jewish section of Bowthorpe Road Cemetery, Norwich at 2pm.
When I first met Ian he was a traffic manager in foreign news from where he got an attachment as a sub in the BH newsroom. An eager beever character whose journalism was self taught, as a born fixer he naturally moved to the GNS desk where he was promoted to chief sub and then on to news organiser.
A devoted family man, on his retirement from the BBC he moved with his wife Stephanie to the U.S> to be near his married daughter. Once there, he started working as a freelance for local radio and after 9/11, he took up temporary residence in New York and filed countless pieces individually tailored to the various local radio stations.
Having contracted cancer, he moved back to Norfolk only a few months ago. Our sympathy goes to his beloved Steph and their family.

IP Logged

alan_ashton
Ex Member

Re: Ian Hyams
Reply #1 - Apr 27th, 2008, 3:19pm

Mike Chaney, his manager at Radio Norfolk and former ly of Bush House and then current affairs group at BH, has asked me to add the following:
Ian had the indispensable journalistic quality of irrepressibility. He was truly an india-rubber ball of a man, constantly on the move, but it was not just energy for its own sake: he always had an accurate eye for a suitable outlet for whatever story he was handling.