Welcome, Guest. Please Login
YaBB - Yet another Bulletin Board
  To join this Forum send an email with this exact subject line REQUEST MEMBERSHIP to bbcstaff@gmx.com telling us your connection with the BBC.
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Alan Short (Read 842 times)
JohnW

Eggington, Bedfordshire
Alan Short
Aug 28th, 2023, 12:50pm

It is with great sadness that I have to report that Alan C Short has passed away. He was 81.

A longtime stalwart of LBH Control Room, he'd spent much of his service in the one area, firstly as an operator and then, latterly, as an engineer.
However he fondly remembered that time he spent on attachment to the Film Unit at Maida Vale, and his conversing with the two Rays (Riley and White).

He was not a fan of Continuity operations - in fact I don't ever recall him doing a shift in any of the Cons! - much preferring to be involved with the operations carried out in the main body of the area. He was self-taught in electronics, computing and programming - skills he was demonstrably able to apply in the era of computerisation of BH. Only recently, he was telling me that 'one of his little projects' (involving wind direction) had been put into use in the mid-80s - and was still being used!!

With the reorganisation of BH Control Room staff in the late 80s, Alan volunteered to undergo the year's training to become a 'fully qualified' engineer, returning to LCR in 1990 as it was undergoing its' conversion to computer operation. With the remote control of equipment becoming the norm for broadcasting, Alan set about writing several programs to make the control and switching operations less onerous on the staff. Indeed, along with several colleagues, they effectively 'rebuilt' BH C/R a number of times over the following decade!!